The Zonneberg Quarry forms part of the immense Sint Pietersberg complex of underground stone quarries. Originally dating from the 16th century, exploitation continued until the 20th Century, Over this period, neighbouring quarries were connected, new entrances and shafts were dug and other areas fell in to disrepair.
Around 1900 guided tours for tourists started and to add to the attraction, various works of art (incuding The Night Watch) were sketched on the limestone walls in charcoal. Mushroon farming also took advantage of the ideal environment for cultivation.
In World War II, karge areas of the network were used as a public air-raid shelter and ovens and toilets were installed for this purpose. Today public tours are still available of the fascinating space.