Goodluck Mine is a former lead mine, situated in the Peak District of Derbyshire near Matlock Bath. It was originally opened in 1830 by John Alsop. It seemingly never lived up to its name and the veins of ore (galena or lead sulphide) were always thin. The mine entrance was closed by the then landowner in the 1950s by blasting.
A group of enthusiasts started restoration and repair work in the 1970s and after many years dedicated effort the Mines Inspectorate approved access to visitors in 2007. The mine is a great example of a small scale lead mine and original stonework, tools and many other artefactsa can be viewed. Some remains of surface buildings can be seen, and the former spoil heap is prominent.
Since the reopening, efforts have continued to explore and open up more of the underground complex. A second entrance to Goodluck has been created in a former shaft and parts of two neighbouring mines can now be explored.
The mine is looked after by the Goodluck Mine Preservation Club. It is securely gated but is open to the public - generally on the first Sunday of the month.